Friday, July 24, 2015

Artist Spotlight

The Internet is one of the many groups that make up the Odd Future collective, which also includes Frank Ocean and Tyler the Creator. The group has three albums but their latest effort, Ego Death (released June, 2015 on Odd Future/Sony) is what reeled me in. Group members Syd Tha Kyd and Matt Martians released the first album off of the Odd Future label. They generally tour with other band members including Patrick Paige, Christopher Smith and Jameel Bruner and are known for their Alt-R&B sound—though they seem to buck that label a bit.

Ego Death features Janelle Monae, Tyler the Creator and Vic Mensa. The group has said the album is vulnerable and honest in its account of the band growing together as musicians and as individuals. It deals with challenges and acknowledges their egos and those of the people around them. The album has been described as “spare and quietly musical, its crisp low end anchored in hip-hop as the rest of the band cooly branches out into jazz, funk and rock. Think of it as an offspring of an early neo-soul pillars like Groove Theory and Maxwell’s Urban Hang Suite, bedroomy but also lush and progressive.” 

If that doesn’t intrigue you, I don’t know what will. Check out some of their music in the playlist below.

No comments: